Travel Awards

This year the ARLIS/NA-TC-Chapter is pleased to offer a $400 travel award for the ARLIS/NA Conference in Salt Lake City, UT, March 26-30, 2019. The award is intended to enhance the professional development of early, mid, and late career ARLIS/NA members by supporting attendance at the annual conference.


Applicants for the award must be current ARLIS/NA and ARLIS/NA-TC members at the time of application. Applicants who receive partial or no institutional funding toward the cost of attending the conference will be given priority. Preference is given to chapter officers, conference speakers, moderators, ARLIS/NA committee members, students, and first-time attendees, but all are encouraged to apply. A person who receives an award will not be eligible to apply for another award until after 3 years.

Timeline and Process

Applications are due on January 18, 2019

Applicants seeking the $400 award are asked to present a letter (via e-mail) to members of the Travel Award Committee. The letter should include a statement of qualifications, the amount of expected institutional funding, proposed conference program involvement, and expected benefits or outcomes.

This award is intended to cover the cost of a single member-rate early registration plus fees for at least one workshop or tour.

Please send letters of application to the head of the travel award committee, Ginny Moran at

Administration of the Award

The Travel Award Committee will review all applications and select a recipient. The recipient will be informed and asked to accept or decline the award in writing. If the first choice award recipient declines, an alternative person from the applicant pool will be selected and offered the award. Upon receiving written acceptance of the award, the ARLIS/NA-TC Secretary/Treasurer will send the recipient a check four to six weeks prior to the start of the conference.

Award recipients are asked to write a brief conference recap for the chapter web site and give a short presentation at the first chapter meeting following the conference.

We encourage all members who plan to attend the annual conference to apply.

Conference Reports

2016 Travel Award Report–Bailey Diers

2014 Travel Award Report–Margit Wilson