Announcing the 2019-20 Professional Development Awards!

This year the ARLIS/NA-TC-Chapter is pleased to offer a $400 award for professional development to enhance the professional development of early, mid, and late career ARLIS/NA members by supporting attendance at the ARLIS/NA annual conference in St. Louis, Missouri, on April 20-24, 2020, ARLIS/NA regional chapter meetings, enrollment in the Summer Educational Institute for Visual Resources and Image Management, or a one-year membership to ARLIS/NA for first-time members


Applicants for the award must be current ARLIS/NA and ARLIS/NA-Twin Cities chapter members at the time of application. Applicants who receive partial or no institutional funding toward the cost of attending a conference will be given priority. Preference is given to chapter officers, conference speakers, moderators, ARLIS/NA committee members, students, and first-time attendees, but all are encouraged to apply. A person who receives an award will not be eligible to apply for another award until after 3 years. 

Timeline and Process

Applications are due on December 20, 2019.

Applicants seeking the $400 award are asked to present a letter (via e-mail) to members of the Award Committee. The letter should include a statement of qualifications, the amount of expected institutional funding, proposed conference program involvement, and expected benefits or outcomes. 

This award is intended to cover the cost of a single member-rate early registration to the ARLIS/NA conference plus fees for at least one workshop or tour, or registration for similar ARLIS/NA affiliated assemblies. 

Please send letters of application to the head of the Award Committee, Beth Goodrich at

Administration of the Award 

The Award Committee will review all applications and select a recipient. The recipient will be informed and asked to accept or decline the award in writing. If the first choice award recipient declines, an alternative person from the applicant pool will be selected and offered the award. Upon receiving written acceptance of the award, the ARLIS/NA-TC Secretary/Treasurer will send the recipient a check four to six weeks prior to the start of the conference.

Award recipients are asked to write a brief conference recap for the chapter web site and give a short presentation at the first chapter meeting following the conference. 

Announcing the winner of the 2019 Conference Travel Award

We are pleased to announce that the 2019 ARLIS/NA Conference Travel Award goes to Jennifer Riestenberg! Jennifer is pursuing a MLIS at St. Catherine University, working as a cataloger at the Walker Art Center, and holds leadership roles with the Special Libraries Association and Progressive Librarians Guild student groups at St. Kate’s. Our chapter is glad to support her as a first-time attendee to the conference March 26 -30, 2019 and we look forward to hearing about her time in Salt Lake City at our next chapter meeting. Congratulations, Jennifer!