Scholarship opportunities from ARLIS/NA



Gerd Muehsam Award

The Gerd Muehsam Award is given annually to recognize excellence in a graduate student paper or project on a topic relevant to art librarianship. This award was established to honor the memory of Gerd Muehsam (1913-1979), distinguished scholar, teacher, and art bibliographer, whose support of and dedication to ARLIS/NA was an inspiration to her colleagues and students. Any student in any accredited graduate library program is encouraged to submit a paper written for a course in the previous eighteen months (or since June 2017).

The award includes

  • $500.00 prize.

  • Up to $300 travel reimbursement to attend the ARLIS/NA 47th Annual Conference in Salt Lake City, UT. This amount may be used to reimburse travel expenses, but will not apply to meals, tours, or other costs.

  • Registration fee to the Salt Lake conference, March 26-30, 2019.

  • Opportunity to present the winning paper at the conference as part of the New Voices in the Profession Panel.

  • A one-year membership to ARLIS/NA.


  • The paper or project must have been created or written during the preceding 18 months by a student enrolled in an accredited graduate library program or in a post-graduate library school program in art history or a related discipline.

  • The paper or project must be in conjunction with a course assignment.

  • One submission is allowed per person.

Required Format

All applicants must include their mailing addresses, email addresses, and telephone numbers with their applications.

Paper submissions must include:

  • 10-25 pages, typed, double-spaced pages.

  • An abstract of 250 words.

  • Title page must include a paper title, the name of the entrant and the institution attended, the name of the faculty member for whom it was written, and the course title.

  • Bibliography and footnotes should follow an accepted format, such as the Chicago Manual of Style or The Elements of Style by Strunk and White.

  • In addition, authors should inform the committee chair if their contribution has been published previously or is being considered for publication.

Internet project submissions must include:

  • 250-word summary of the project.

  • URL.

  • The name of the institution and course for which it was created.

  • The name of the faculty member assigning the project.

  • The project must be accessible to all of the committee members for review.

Judging Criteria

Papers and projects will be judged on their relevance to art librarianship or visual curatorship, depth of research and scholarship, quality of organization, appropriate use of terminology, style and readability, and originality of thought or observation.

Application & Deadline

Entries must be postmarked by the end of the day, November 19, 2017. They will not be returned. All applicants should receive notification of the results by December 15, 2017.

Email entries to:

Jade Finlinson

Chair, Student Advancement Awards Subcommittee

  • December 16, 2018: Deadline for submission of papers to the Student Advancement Awards Subcommittee.
  • January 11, 2019: Applicants notified of award results.


Wolfgang M. Freitag Internship Award

  • Provides support for students preparing for art or architecture librarianship or visual resources curatorship.The Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA) accepts applications for its annual Internship Award each fall. This award provides financial support for students preparing for a career in art or architecture librarianship or visual resources curatorship via a grant of $3,000.00 to support a 150-hour internship in an art or architecture related setting such as a library, archive, or visual resources collection.

Who May Apply

  • This internship aims to represent the multifaceted nature of our field by providing internship opportunities to students currently enrolled in, or having completed within the last 12 months, a graduate program in library science, art history, architectural history, architecture, studio art, or museum studies.

Internship Description

  • One Wolfgang M. Freitag Internship is awarded per year. Once an award recipient has been selected, he or she will select an institution to act as host for the internship. This institution must be approved by the ARLIS/NA Wolfgang M. Freitag Internship Award Subcommittee. ARLIS/NA is not responsible for matching candidates with a host institution, but will gladly assist with the process. (See Host Institutions.) The award cannot be used for an internship that is already in progress.
  • This Internship Award will be granted during 2019. The intern is required to work on site at their chosen host institution for a minimum of 150 hours. In all cases the internship must be completed within twelve months of the recipient being notified of the award.
  • The intern will write a brief report of the internship experience at the conclusion of the internship.
  • The Wolfgang M. Freitag Internship Award will provide a stipend of $3,000.00 to the intern. Half of the award will be granted prior to the internship, with the remainder granted upon completion of the internship and receipt of a letter to the Chair of the Internship Award Subcommittee signed by the Internship supervisor and intern stating the 150 hours have been completed. The award recipient will also receive a one year membership in ARLIS/NA at the student level. Interns may have the option of receiving academic credit for the internship as part of graduate study, but will be responsible for making those arrangements.
  • Deadline for submission of evaluation forms and documents by intern and host institution will be within 30 days of the completion of the internship.

How to Apply
To apply for the award, please submit the following:

  • A current résumé.
  • A current transcript in PDF format [this does not need to be issued directly from the institution].
  • The names of two professional or scholastic references with addresses, telephone numbers, and email addresses.
  • An essay of up to 900 words addressing your skills, background, and expectations of the internship experience—including the type of institution you are interested in as well as potential project ideas. The essay should also address the following questions:
  • What are your professional goals and how do your plans for the experience funded by the ARLIS/NA Wolfgang M. Freitag Internship Award fit into your career path?  In particular, how do you imagine this internship experience to be different than previous internship or work experiences?
  • This award funds a one-year membership in ARLIS/NA. How do you see yourself participating in ARLIS/NA, or another professional organization, in your future professional life?
  • If granted the internship award, when do you plan to fulfill it?

Application materials in PDF format should be emailed to:
Jade Finlinson
Chair, Student Advancement Awards Subcommittee
Phone: +1 213-458-6142

Host Institutions
A selected list of host institutions is available via the ARLIS/NA Internship Roster. The choice of host institutions is flexible and not limited to those in the Roster.
(Note to potential host institutions: You may add your information to the ARLIS/NA Internship Roster by completing the Internship Roster Form.)

  • December 16, 2018: Deadline for submission of applications to the Student Advancement Awards Subcommittee.
  • January 11, 2019: Applicants notified of award results.